top of page



Burn Ban is now in effect as of July 01, 2024 at 01:00am



  • All fine dead fuels ignite readily and fires start easily from any cause.

  • Unattended brush and campfires are likely to escape.

  • Fires spread rapidly and short-distance spotting is common.

  • Fire may become serious and their control difficult unless they are hit hard and fast while small.

 Burning Regulations:

Under Oregon laws, outdoor burning is regulated by the Department of Environmental Quality for pollution concerns, the Department of Forestry when our forests or timber is affected, and the Fire Department for Fire & Life Safety concerns.

Vernonia Rural Fire Protection District is required to comply with the Oregon Fire Code, ORS 478 and O.A.R. Chapter 340, Rules for Open Burning. Vernonia Fire will close burning on days when weather conditions cause high fire danger. The State Fire Marshal may also restrict burning during extreme fire season conditions. Please use safe burning practices at all times to prevent wildfires.

To minimize air pollution resulting from outdoor burning, D.E.Q. has prescribed specific burning seasons. Each day the authority to burn may be granted or restricted depending on the air quality and fire hazards. 

Backyard Burning:

Yard, Tree and Garden debris

  1. Residential burning may only be conducted during the Open Burn Seasons.

  2. Open Burn Seasons are:

    • March 1st – June 15th

    • October 1st – December 15th

  3. Burning before 8:00am or outside of the allowed hours is prohibited by D.E.Q. Fires must be out two hours before sunset pacific standard time.

Recreational Fires:

Campfires, Cooking Fires, and Bonfires

  1. Campfires, cooking fires, and bonfires are allowed throughout the year unless we are in a severe fire season at which time all fires may be prohibited. 

  2. Call 503-429-8252 during regular business hours of 8:00am and 5:00pm for recreational fire information.

  3. Propane powered cooking appliances that meet the manufacturers listing are not regulated.

  4. Burning of trash or yard debris is not permitted in recreational fires.

Open Fire Safety Rules:

24-hour on-site monitoring is required until the burn site is completely cold.

Open fires must be limited in size, be controllable and not be a hazard to people, property or standing vegetation.

Open burning shall not be conducted within 50 feet of any structure or other combustible material. Conditions, which could cause the fire to spread to within 50 feet of a structure, shall be eliminated prior to ignition.

Exception: Clearance from structures and other combustible materials may be reduced as follows:

  1. No fire shall be larger than approx. 9ft x 9ft x 9ft.

  2. A garden hose connected to a water supply and a shovel or other approved fire-extinguishing equipment shall be readily available for use at open burning sites. Heavy equipment such as a trackhoe or tractor, etc. may be required for large piles.

  3. Burning material shall be constantly attended by a person knowledgeable in the use of the fire-extinguishing equipment. The attendant shall supervise the burning material on site until the fire has been extinguished.

  4. Burning of materials in any manner where smoke or flame damages or endangers persons or property of others is prohibited.

  5. The Fire Chief is authorized to close open burning due to hazardous conditions.

  6. All fires shall be extinguished two hours before sunset.


Please continue to use extreme caution when any type of burning is taking place, keep a water source nearby, and never leave your fire unattended.


Residential Burn Permits:

As required by ORS 478.960, burning permits are required for all open burning in the Vernonia Rural Fire Protection District service area, with the exception of small recreational fires.  Please follow all burning regulations and directions very carefully.  

Yearly Burn Permits are cash only, and cost $5.00 / $2.50 for those 65+ or disabled, and can be purchased at the Vernonia Fire Department.

Be sure to dial 503-429-8252 to ensure it is an official burn day each day you decide to burn.

Columbia County Burn Ban Notice - July 01, 2024


Burn Complaint Reporting:

During High-Fire Danger Times: During a VRFPD Burn Ban, you can report illegal burning activities to the Columbia County Non-Emergency number (503) 397-1521 or 9-1-1 if it is an emergency situation. 

All other times: Report smoke complaints and illegal burning activities directly with 9-1-1. 

bottom of page